Ukraine set rules for arrivals from red and green zones

16.06.2020 | Legal

The Ukrainian Ministry of Health has introduced a list of countries whose citizens shall to undergo controlled observation or self-isolation for 14 days upon arrival in Ukraine.

From the “red zone” (where the rate is more than 40 active cases per 100 thousand population), people will be sent for observation / self-isolation for 14 days after crossing the border. “From the” green zone “(where the figure is less than 40) – will be able to avoid self-isolation,” – said Deputy Minister of Health – Chief State Sanitary Doctor of Ukraine Viktor Lyashko.

Viktor Lyashko: People from countries where the number of active cases of COVID-19 is less than 40 per 100 thousand population will be admitted to Ukraine without self-isolation / observation.

An adaptive approach to self-isolation / observation of Ukrainians and citizens of other countries arriving from abroad has been introduced since June 15. Countries are divided into 2 zones, according to the number of active cases of COVID-19 per 100 thousand population.

In order to decide on the self-isolation / observation of persons, the country of origin of the person and the country of which he or she is a citizen will be considered.

At the same time, if a person is a citizen of a “red zone” country, but has supporting documents that he has been in a “green zone” country for the last 14 days, only the country of departure will be considered.

A COVID-19 health insurance policy will be a prerequisite for foreigners.

Read also: Details on the entry of foreigners into Ukraine

According to the ministry, the list includes countries where the COVID-19 situation is worse than in Ukraine. The government defined a poor epidemiological situation as 40 or more COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people.

Ukraine currently has 37 cases per 100,000 people.

The “red” list, as the ministry termed it, is led by Qatar, San Marino, Sweden, the United Kingdom, the United States, Armenia, Peru, Bahrain, Belgium and Oman.

Read also: Ukraine opened borders for foreigners – official source

The list also includes Belarus, the Netherlands, Kuwait, Sao Tome and Principe, French Guiana, Singapore, Brazil, Mayotte, Russia, Djibouti, the United Arab Emirates, the Maldives, Spain, Chile, Panama, Bolivia, Portugal, Moldova, Saudi Arabia, Ecuador, Gabon, the Cayman Islands, North Macedonia, France, the Dominican Republic, Canada, Malta, Equatorial Guinea, Cabo Verde, Honduras, Liechtenstein, Guinea-Bissau, Colombia, Afghanistan, South Africa, Italy, Argentina, Bangladesh, Azerbaijan and Guatemala.

According to the State Border Service of Ukraine, the citizens of these countries will have to undergo self-isolation at home or observation in a government-selected facility upon arriving in Ukraine.

Those travelers who choose to self-isolate will have to install the state-developed app, which monitors people’s location, on their mobile phones.

Read also: Who has a right to enter the territory of Ukraine till lockdown end on 22.06.2020

However, if foreigners who come from “red” countries have documents that prove they have been in a “green” country during the last 14 days, the border service will consider letting them in without self-isolation.

Additionally, all foreigners who wish to come to Ukraine will have to have medical insurance that covers COVID-19 treatment in case they get infected.

The quarantine is set to last in Ukraine until June 22. It’s not clear until what date the new rules for foreigners will apply.

Read also: Police stopped due to the quarantine regime FAQ

Write Comments

Advanced Search